Scholarships from the Barbara Wood Memorial Foundation

The Foundation was established to commemorate the life and work of the late Barbara Wood MBE, the Dominion President of the NZ Federation of Country Women's Institutes 1970-1974, the South Pacific Area Vice-President of the Associated Country Women of the World (ACWW) from 1975 - 1977 and the Deputy World President of the same organisation between 1977-1979. Mrs Wood died tragically in the Mt Erebus air disaster.

The Foundation offers financial assistance to provide training opportunities for students in New Zealand and the South Pacific region.

Who can apply?

The scholarships are available to tertiary students, both female and male, who were born in the South Pacific region which not only includes the island nations of the Pacific but also New Zealand and Australia. Students born in the South Pacific wishing to study in New Zealand or anywhere in the South Pacific are eligible for the scholarship.


Scholarships up to $1,000 a year are granted depending on the need and cost of the course being undertaken and are granted at the discretion of the Trustees of the Barbara Wood Memorial Foundation. Recipients that are successful in any one year can apply again in any subsequent year.

How to apply?

Check out the conditions for your application and if you meet them fill out the BWM Application form include all papers required and send it off.

Information and application forms for the Barbara Wood Memorial Foundation Trust grants are available below:

Conditions for applications are available to download HERE. Please read and follow these.

This outlines what you are required to send in with the application form

Application form for the 2025 academic year can be downloaded here. 

Applications will not be accepted without a completed official application form plus the information outlined in the Conditions for Application (download available above).

Applications for the 2025 academic year will close at 3.00 pm on 24 January 2025


Simar Choudhary

Keita Fuller

Selau Ifopo 

Billie-Jean Fuller

Deni Tipene 

Charlene Schekar

Erin Wilson
MoST Content Management V3.0.8886